The North Star STEM (science, technology, engineering, and mathematics) Alliance, is comprised of fourteen higher education institutions and three community partners - the Science Museum of Minnesota, the Minnesota Education Equity Partnership, and the Minnesota High Tech Association. The academic institutions are representative of the breadth of higher education institutions in Minnesota, and include both public and private colleges and universities, community colleges, and tribal colleges.

Augsburg College Bemidji State University
Carleton College Century College
Leech Lake Tribal College Metropolitan State University
Minneapolis Community and Technical College Minnesota State University, Mankato
Minnesota High Tech Association (MHTA) Minnesota Minority Education Partnership
St. Olaf College Science Museum of Minnesota
St. Cloud State University University of Minnesota, Duluth
University of Minnesota, Morris University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
White Earth Tribal and Community College  



Faculty who are interested in getting involved with the North Star STEM Alliance can do so in a number of ways:

Mentor an Alliance student

  • Serve as a departmental liaison to the Alliance
  • Guide students through graduate school planning
  • Guide students into undergraduate research
  • President's Distinguished Faculty Mentoring Program (UMTC)

Welcome an Alliance student into your research group

  • Undergraduate research (Funding provided by the North Star STEM Alliance)
  • Include undergraduate researchers in international research programs
  • Students can attend regional/national meetings through Alliance funding

Teaching and Learning

  • Develop a STEM-focused seminar with a multicultural context
  • Propose a customized teaching and learning workshop that promotes multicultural education
  • Apply for a Multicultural Teaching and Learning Fellowship
  • Attend Alliance events